Three new additions complete Net Zero team

The Scottish Episcopal Church’s new Net Zero Team is now complete, following the recruitment of three more members taking the team to six people.

Iain Johnstone, Neil Rawlins and Daniel Prince all started in their new roles today (17 April) and met their colleagues at the General Synod Office in Edinburgh.

Iain Johnstone joins the Net Zero Team as our Net Zero Sustainability Officer. He was previously with Voluntary Action North Lanarkshire where he was a Community Development Officer with specific remit to look at climate adaption.  He will be working full time in enabling, informing, and providing dioceses with practical guidance on the wider sustainability of Net Zero projects and actions.

Iain can be contacted at

Neil Rawlins has been appointed to the position of Carbon Projects and Data Officer. Neil  previously worked at Research Data Scotland in business management. His background is in risk management and writing corporate environmental and carbon net zero policies.  He will be supporting the development of local carbon reduction projects and be responsible for carbon data collection, analysis, and reporting.

Neil can be contacted at

Completing the team, Daniel Prince joins us as the new Clean Energy Advisor.  Daniel specialises in the design, development and delivery of projects, and was formerly the Carbon Emissions lead at Sustrans Scotland.  He will be supporting development of retrofitting and upgrade plans for SEC properties with practical guidance on clean energy to reduce emissions and costs.

Daniel can be contacted at

The three new team members join Bethany Nelson (Empowerment Coordinator) and Jack Nevin (Innovation Coordinator), who joined earlier this year, and Paul Williams, Net Zero Delivery Director.

The Net Zero team members of the team will also be available as points of contact for each of the seven Dioceses:

Dioceses of Aberdeen & Orkney and Brechin: Jack Nevin (
Dioceses of Argyll & The Isles and Glasgow & Galloway: Iain Johnstone (
Diocese of Edinburgh: Neil Rawlins (
Diocese of Moray, Ross & Caithness: Daniel Prince (
Diocese of St Andrews, Dunkeld & Dunblane: Bethany Nelson (